top of page

Easy Japan Visa Tips For Pinoys


Is it hard to apply for a Japan Visa?

Japan is the country that many people including myself would dream to go. In the past years, getting a Japan Visa for Filipino passport holders is quite tough which requires long queues, face to face interview, stricter requirements and so on, which leads to getting deined results. How difficult is it really be to go to Japan? It is true that it is one of the most expensive city to live. But still, many would love to be fascinated to experience the mix of the the Old Japanese tradition together with the modern technology of Japan.


Do you remember some hoax about Japan is now visa free? That totally shocks many pinoys dreaming to go to Japan. But sadly, it was just a hoax. However, in the recent years, Japan opened its world to third world countries with either visa-free entry or relaxed visa application. Japan has honored citizens of Thailand and Malaysia for a visa free access to Japan. Recently, Philippines and Vietnam were offered a relaxed visa screening which they also now offer multiple entry visa too.



So what made them decide to relax their immigration policy? Japan wants to strengthen the tourism of their country. The Japanese government plans to raise the number of tourists to 30 million per year by the year of 2030.


Even I was a child, I have already dreamed of visiting Japan. There were times that I only got to experience Japan on layover trips via Tokyo and Osaka. Even on their airports, it's so clean. Japanese is really known for being clean efficient. I don't know why I wanted to go to Tokyo Disneyland if there's Disneyland in Hong Kong or in the US where it originated. I'd love to experience a bullet train in Tokyo, although there are bullet trains in Europe and Korea. I'd love to fill my tummy with soba and ramen. I'd love to experience onsen or the Japanese hot springs. I want to experience snow in Japan even if it snows in Korea or in the US. There's really something about Japan in my heart.

Now, how I started with the visa procedure? Japan embassy of the Philippine no longer accepts direct applicants to their office. They have established partnership with travel agencies in the country to help them process the visa application. This is something good because you just have to go to your preferred travel agent that's honored by the embassy of Japan to process your visa.

I actually searched for the best agency, luckily I got an opportunity to look at the website of Reli Tours. Since I am only a tourist without any friends or relatives in Japan, I would apply for a Tourist Visa with out guarantor.


Below is the list of requirements for a Tourist Visa.



1. Your Philippine Passport must be valid for at least 6 months and must have at least two blank page available. The embassy is very strict also for any broken lamination of the bio page of your passport. So beware of that.



2. You can fill up the online application form which is available on the link below. Do take note that only A4 size paper must be used when printing your application form. (Link: http://www.relitours.ph/application1.pdf) When filling up the form, as much as possible use a blank ink or simply use the pdf form and type directly there then print it. Any fields that's not applicable, please put "N/A". You have to state the main reason for going to Japan (which is purely for tourism purpose). If you haven't booked for your hotel and flight, at least include your preferred airport of destination and your choice hotel. You can look for cheap hotels here: AGODA.COM





3. Before applying for the visa, apply for your latest copy of birth certificate (NSO Certified). What I did is to apply online which I only got it in three days. (Link: https://nsohelpline.ph/order-now ) I only paid around 365 pesos. You can also go to the nearest SM Department Stores and apply there which you can get it in one week. But if you're in a hurry, you can go directly to NSO Main office in Manila which you can get that in one day (but expect long lines). If the PSA certificate from NSO is unreadable, you have to submit a birth certificate from the local registry. What if there's no record with PSA / NSO? Submit the No Record Certificate from NSO together with the certificate of birth from the local registry office. If it's a late registration, you need to submit a baptismal certificate and school record (form 137).



4. Your next requirement is the TAIZAI YOTEIHYO. It's your daily scheduled itinerary in Japan. When you're planning for your Japan trip, you have to make a lot of research. Try to create a detailed itinerary. You can follow the format on this link: ( http://www.relitours.ph/application5-e-.pdf ). It is important to list the contact detail of your hotel in Japan. If you're staying with a friend, you need to include your friend's contact number and address. (Sample Below)



5. Bank Certificate is also required. This is a proof of your funds that you can sufficiently travel to Japan. There's no certain amount to put on your bank. You can request this from your bank with a small fee. Some would even borrow money for bank certificate purposes.



6. An income tax return or ITR is required. For a regular employee, your form 2316 is required. You need to show both the original and photocopy. But all photocopy documents will not be returned back to you.



7. Last but not the least is a two by two ID picture with a white background. Paste it in your application form and you're almost ready to apply for the visa. I went to Reli Tours SM Megamall branch on the 5th floor. That time, there's a handful number of applicants. You need to get a number wait for your turn to be called. Again, before going to the agency, please double check if you all have the required documents.



Once my number was called, I presented to the staff all my documents which they've verified it. They are very professional and helpful. After a few minutes of reviewing my requirements, I headed on to the next desk which they encoded my details. I was informed that the visa process would take place in 5-10 business days. I then paid for my visa which is only 950 pesos (around $19) for the processing fee. There is no fee for tourist visa in Japan.



After 3 working days, I received a text message informing me that my passport is ready for pickup. I am really nervous and too many doubts if I would be granted a tourist visa.



When I returned to Reli Tours, no need to wait again. They just gave me my passport and informing me my visa application has been granted for thr ee months with a maximum stay of 15 days during the entire period. What a relief! Now I figured out, it wasn't that hard to get the visa! Now I'm ready for my Japan Japan Tour!!!


If you ever wanted to apply for a Japan Visa, you can check the details of Reli Tours Below. They have branches also in Mall of Asia but the lines is so long there so I chose Megamall. You can call Reli Tours if you have any questions.


Reli Tours

You can also find more details about Japan Visa and their affiliated agencies on this link: http://www.ph.emb-japan.go.jp/visiting/new%20visa/list%20of%20accredited%20agencies.htm


Catch up next on my Japan Adventure! Read more of my travel stories at www.owentravels.net. You can also subscribe and watch on my YouTube Travel Channel at www.youtube.com/owenstraveladventure




Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page