top of page

Is a one hour business class service with Philippine Airlines worth to try?


Booking for a flight on a business class trip can be really quite an experience. People buy for more for the service especially on a long journey. As they say some can only afford to buy a business class ticket because of its humongous fare difference from economy ticket. For example, flying a one way ticket from Manila to Tokyo is roughly around US $330.00. But a business class one way ticket could be as high as US $1,000 for a 4 hour trip. People who prefers greater comfort choose to book a business or first class ticket. How about economy or coach passenger like most of us who dream of flying business class for the sake of experience and comfort?


PAL recently opened their domestic reservations again for business class seat on selected destination. They now offer this type of service from Manila to Bacolod, Cebu, Davao and Iloilo. For example, the one way fare from Iloilo to Manila is between 6,166 pesos to 8,641 pesos (US $122 - US $ 172) For just a very short plane ride, would you ever try this? Out of curiosity and for the love of flying, I did!

When flying on a PAL domestic business class it includes 30 kilos of baggage, hot meal, 125% mileage accrual, seat pitch from 37 - 39 inches, priority check-in and bag tagging, advance seat reservation, ticket is refundable, access to mabuhay lounge and priority boarding. I actually booked the 10: 15 am flight to Manila on board their Airbus A321.

Arriving at the new Iloilo International Airport made me jaw drop because even though it's small, it looks so clean and modern especially the departure area. Check-in was smooth which the agent gave me the boarding pass for the 10:15 AM flight. I headed on to the escalator on the third floor which we have to pay 200 pesos for the airport terminal fee. This terminal also handles international flights to Hong Kong and Singapore operated by Cebu Pacific (Philippine's largest budget airliner). On the departure hall, , there are some souvenir shops for your last minute shopping.


I headed on to the Mabuhay Lounge. PAL gives access to their lounge for mabuhay elite members, business class and premium economy class passengers. The mabuhay lounge is located on the far left side of the terminal. It's quite spacious and they offer some snacks before your flight. On all mabuhay lounge, only here in Iloilo that they offer their very own Lapaz Batchoy (noodle soup). What I like about this lounge is that it is not so crowded unlike in Manila and Cebu.

Boarding was called from the lounge. It's actually a full flight even on business class section. Now I feel excited again to experience business class. In the past (around 2012), I tried PAL's business class from Cebu which they only offer hot sandwich and a drink, which is now it's being offered for premium economy class. I can't wait to try their hot meals on their short flight. The usual cheerful PAL cabin crew welcomes us. I really adore their warm generosity and approach with the passenger.


I was given a hot towel to freshen up and was offered a fruit juice for welcome drinks. Once everybody was on their seat and all pre-departure procedures were made, we ware airborne. And once the seat belt sign is off, the work has begun for less than an hour journey to Manila.


For the hot meal, a choice of Seafood Pasta or Filipino Pancit Palabok (noodle with shrimp paste). I opted for the seafood option. The cabin crew also asked me for my preferred drink which I asked for another round of juice. Honestly, the meal's quantity is more than enough for the short flight, however I find it just a light meal. It includes a sliced selection of fresh fruits, yogurt and mango chocolate candy. The crew continuously offers drinks such as coffee, tea, water and juice.


Soon, the captain has announced that we have already begun descending to Manila airport. We were still eating that time. Once the meal tray were all cleared, we were given another hot towels for a fresh arrival in Manila. The cabin crew is always smiling but I can feel their great effort of servicing 12 business class passengers on a very short route. They have such good skills in multitasking.



When we landed in Manila, it was just a short walk to the arrival hall and my bag is already waiting for me. Thanks for the priority bag tag they place on my luggage.


The cabin service is really impeccable which I adore how the cabin crew manages their duty to serve business class for just a very short hop. This is the factor I could say PAL can be a five star service provider.


For the food itself, I like the way they serve meals on hot plates, however I find the service quite the same with economy class on international flight (the difference is the ceramic dishware they place on the business class section). I have tried domestic business class with THAI Airways and I find them the same. If there are better ways to improve it, it would be great even to pay for more. On my Manila to Iloilo flight, they also offered a noodle / pasta dish. Maybe they should offer rice meal on other timings as most of the passengers are Filipino. I do hope that the meal service on an international flight with PAL would be better.


The aircraft doesn't have an audio video on demand or personal TV which they also use their Airbus A321 on their regional flights. I hope the management would be able to level up their in-flight entertainment comparable to other international airlines if they aim to be a five star airline. However, the seat itself is very spacious especially the legroom.


So would I ever recommend PAL's domestic business class? Well, I guess it's a case to case basis. If you're planning for a group or family vacation, it's better flying economy class. For passenger on a business trip, it is highly advisable so you can prepare well for your meetings while you're on their lounge and be freshened up before your appointments. For passenger with limited mobility, I highly suggest you book the business class and get the first seat. PAL Cabin crew is very accommodating. I remember me and my grand mother who's already 80 years old, flew PAL and the cabin crew is so helpful assisting her walk on through the aisle, slowly. I guess even when you fly business class, you'll be taken care of. For aviation lovers, it's should be on your to-do list :)


Thank you so much for reading this blog and I hope I was able to accommodate your inquiry. I suggest you watch my vlog on Youtube, just click the play button below. Don't forget to follow me on Facebook. Just click on the facebook icon on this website which would lead you to my account. Or just go to www.facebook.com/owentravelsBD.

Don't forget to subscribe on my YouTube channel at www.youtube.com/owenstraveladventure


ROUTE: Iloilo (ILO) to Manila (MNL)

Date: February 15, 2017

Class: Business

Aircraft: Airbus A321

Seat: 3K

Meal: Seafood Pasta


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page